Team Sky

Est. 2010
United Kingdom


Team Sky is a UK-based professional cycling team founded in 2009. The team’s stated aim was to win the Tour de France with a clean British rider within five years and to help inspire people of all ages and abilities to get on their bikes.

The team has gone on to amass more than 250 victories, including five Tour de France titles, two Monument Classics, one Vuelta a Espana and two individual time trial world championships. In 2012 Sir Bradley Wiggins made history by becoming the first British rider to win the Tour de France - two years ahead of the team’s stated schedule.

In 2013 Chris Froome defended the team’s Tour title, and cemented his status as one of the finest stage racers of all time by winning the yellow jersey on three further occasions, in addition to winning the 2017 Vuelta a Espana. The team retains a strong British link with a base in Manchester and a number of British riders, including Froome and Geraint Thomas.


Leonardo Basso, Egan Bernal, Jonathan Castroviejo, David de la Cruz, Philip Deignan, Jon Dibben, Owain Doull, Kenny Elissondem, Chris Froome, Tao Geoghegan Hart, Michal Golas, Kristoffer Halvorsen, Sebastian Henao, Sergio Henao, Benat Intxausti, Vasil Kiryienka, Christian Knees, Michal Kwiatkowski, Chris Lawless, David Lopez, Gianni Moscon, Wout Poels, Salvatore Puccio, Diego Rosa, Luke Rowe, Pavel Sivakov, Ian Stannard, Geraint Thomas, Dylan van Baarle, Lukasz Wisniowski


  • Five Tour de France titles: 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017
  • Vuelta a Espana: 2017
  • Two Monument Classic victories: Liege-Bastogne-Liege (Wout Poels, 2016), Milan-San Remo (Michal Kwiatkowski, 2017)
  • Two individual time trial world champions (Sir Bradley Wiggins, 2014; Vasil Kiryienka, 2015)