Oakley Athletes Dominate at USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships


The 2009 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships concluded at the Home Depot Center velodrome on Sunday. Oakley athletes dominated the podium, especially Oakley’s Taylor Phinney who won three of the 10 titles earned.

Boulder cyclist Taylor Phinney added to his list of national titles, winning the 30-kilometer points race at the USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships on Saturday.

Racing at the Home Depot Center velodrome, Phinney and Colorado Springs` Mike Creed both completed the race with 53 points, but Phinney beat Creed in the final sprint to earn the victory.

The 19-year-old Phinney also earned the U23 title in the event to add to a weekend that included his third straight individual pursuit national title on Friday. The 2008 Olympian also teamed up with Boulder`s Julian Kyer and two others on Thursday to win the team pursuit title against a squad that included Louisville`s Zach Watson.

Oakley’s Sarah Hammer once again displayed her dominance winning the women’s points race two laps up on the field with 57 points. Theresa Cliff-Ryan and Shelly Olds, who finished one lap up, earned 35 and 31 points respectively to win silver and bronze.
In the men’s Keirin, Oakley’s Giddeon Massie held off a fierce challenge by 20-year-old David Espinoza and Steven Beardsley to win the gold.

For Massie, it was the third national title of the week as he took the Stars-and-Stripes in both the 250-meter time trial and the kilometer time trial. The 2004 and 2008 Olympian also earned the silver in last night’s sprint. After finishing second in the 250-meter time trial and third in the kilo, Espinoza once again just missed the title.

“It was a good week,” said Massie. “I was feeling good all week and racing every day. I plan on taking this form and contesting as many international races as I can. That’s what I need, what we need, to take it to that next level.

In the men’s Madison, Oakley’s Iggy Silva and Cody Reilly lapped the field inside the final few laps to beat Black Dog’s Ryan Luttrell and Ryan Sagba.

In the team sprint events, Oakley’s Lanell Rockmore, Dean Tracy and Kevin Mansker rode to a national title.

In Men’s team pursuit, Oakley’s Julian Kyer, Justin Williams and Taylor Phinney took the win.

Oakley’s Daniel Holloway beat the competition in the Men’s Omnium.