Pontano and Stewart Win at Ford Ironman Coeur d’Alene

Picture 2

Oakley’s Francisco Pontano and Tyler Stewart took the titles at the 2009 Ford Ironman Coeur d’Alene. Pontano dominated the men’s race to take his second Ironman title, his first win taking place at the 2008 Ford Ironman Lake Placid. Stewart won her first Ironman title setting new bike and overall course records.

Pontano was third out of the water and worked his way into the lead in the early stages of the bike. The Spaniard held the lead for the remainder of the race finishing with a time of 8:32:12. Second place went to TJ Tollakson in 8:42:03 and Oakley’s Maximilian Longrée of Germany came in third with a time of 8:50:19.

Stewart did not exit the water among the top 10 women, but made her charge on the bike breaking the previous record by nearly 15 minutes. She led onto the run and, while she lost a little time early in the marathon to Heather Wurtele, worked her way back to a comfortable lead and a new overall course record of 9:23:21. Wurtele dropped off the pace a little in the second half of the run and was passed by Oakley’s Kate Major who took second in a time of 9:32:10.

More than 2,100 athletes from around the world took part in the 2009 event. Athletes in the 2009 Ford Ironman Coeur d’Alene were competing for a total professional prize purse of $50,000 and 72 qualifying spots for the 2009 Ford Ironman World Championship to be held in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, in October.


Tess Weaver


June 23, 2009