Global Talent Ignite Peaking Swell At ASP Prime 6.0 Lowers Pro


The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) PRIME 6.0 Lowers Pro saw the event’s top seeds revel in pristine six foot conditions at Lower Trestles and the iconic pointbreak played host to world-class performances by several ASP Dream Tour competitors.

With the shift into the ASP One World Rating in tow for the 2010 season, the 6.0 Lowers Pro’s PRIME status attracted 36 ASP Dream Tour surfers who are out to combat the hottest up-and-coming talent to capitalize on the mass of ratings points and $145,000 prize purse on offer at Lower Trestles.

Oakley’s Tom Whitaker of Australia was one ASP World Title Race surfer to stand tall amongst the elite field competing in the ideal afternoon conditions with lightning fast rail-to-rail power surfing and crucial fin wafts to post a convincing Round 2 victory with a 17.25 heat total.

“It’s ridiculous how good it is out there right now,” Whitaker said. “I’ve been on the tour for eight or nine years and I’ve never seen it this good. There are just so many waves coming through and the boys can really light up, it’s sick to watch.”

The Australian standout is hoping that the south swell will stick around for the remaining days and is out to continue to rip into the perfect Lowers conditions on offer with his fellow ASP Dream Tour campaigners.

“Any time a really good event is put on at a world-class place like this you’re going to get the best surfers in the world,” Whitaker said. “It’s not even all about the points, I’m looking forward to having a lot of fun in these conditions and just going out and ripping with everyone.”

Tomorrow’s 6.0 Lowers Pro action will begin at 8 am local time with the Round of 48. Watch the high-quality webcast with live video coverage and scoring at

The Grade-2 Oakley Pro Junior will resume action with the Quarters, Semis and Finals on Saturday. For more about the Oakley Pro Junior, visit

The 6.0 Lowers Pro and Oakley Pro Junior wouldn’t be possible without the generous support of sponsors. A special thank you goes out to title sponsor Nike 6.0 and junior title sponsor Oakley, co-sponsors Red Bull and Corralejo Tequila, and media sponsors Surfer (, Surfing ( and FUEL TV.

6.0 Lowers Pro Round of 96 Results:
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA), 11.47, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 10.90, Kai Otton (AUS) 10.56, Tim Boal (FRA) 8.84
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) 12.24, Tim Reyes (USA) 11.33, Dayyan Neve (AUS) 9.63, Hugo Savalli (REU) 8.07
Heat 6: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) 13.30, Shaun Cansdell (AUS) 13.26, Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 12.90, Mason Ho (HAW) 10.56
Heat 7: Nate Yeomans (USA) 12.83, Stuart Kennedy (AUS) 12.40, Daniel Ross (AUS) 10.66, Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF) 9.48
Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) 16.77, Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) 13.77, Gabriel Medina (BRA) 12.70, Kai Barger (HAW) 8.26
Heat 9: Adrian Bucchan (AUS) 16.43, Adam Robertson (AUS) 16.33, Glen Hall (IRL) 12.34, Marlon Lipke (DEU) 11.20
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 13.00, Kolohe Andino (USA) 11.77, Marco Polo (BRA) 11.67, Brian Toth (PRI) 8.83
Heat 11: Dylan Graves (PRI) 14.10, Eric Geiselman (USA) 13.80, Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 12.17, Brett Simpson (USA) 8.67
Heat 12: Jadson Andre (BRA) 16.20, Sebastien Zietz (HAW) 11.87, Brandon Jackson (ZAF) 9.33, Chris Waring (USA) 7.40
Heat 13: Dane Reynolds (USA) 17.54, Michael Picon (FRA) 12.27, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 12.26, Leonardo Neves (BRA) 11.17
Heat 14: John John Florence (HAW) 15.93, Dean Morrison (AUS) 13.66, Dusty Payne (HAW) 11.20, Tonino Benson (HAW) 8.07
Heat 15: Tiago Pires (PRT) 14.50, Blake Thornton (AUS) 13.94, Darrell Goodrum (USA) 7.77, Shaun Ward (USA) 6.23
Heat 16: Owen Wright (AUS) 14.50, David Weare (ZAF) 11.50, Willian Cardoso (BRA) 6.83, Joel Centeio (HAW) 6.67
Heat 17: C.J. Hobgood (USA) 16.70, Gabe Kling (USA) 15.97, Maxime Huscenot (REU) 12.24, Alain Riou (PYF) 11.37
Heat 18:Thiago Camarao (BRA) 14.93, Cory Lopez (USA) 14.06, Neco Padaratz (BRA) 13.20, Luke Munro (AUS) 10.94
Heat 19:Jonathan Gonzales (CNY) 17.00, Andy Irons (HAW) 12.94, Jay Thompson (AUS) 12.43, Marcio Farney (BRA) 10.24
Heat 20: Nathan Hedge (AUS) 15.13, Dion Atkinson (AUS) 12.13, Bernardo Miranda (BRA) 9.86, Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.47
Heat 21: Joan Duru (FRA) 14.80, Damien Hobgood (USA) 14.07, Gony Zubizarreta (ESP) 11.40, Jean Da Silva (BRA) 11.03
Heat 22: Tom Whitaker (AUS) 17.25, Josh Kerr (AUS) 13.40, Jarrad Sullivan (AUS) 13.24, Blake Jones (USA) 12.34
Heat 23: Wiggoly Dantas (BRA) 15.33, Drew Courtney (AUS) 13.60, Mick Campbell (AUS) 12.77, Rudy Palmboom (ZAF) 7.40
Heat 24: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 18.93, Aritz Aranburu (EUK) 15.27, Austin Ware (USA) 13.43, Miguel Pupo (BRA) 12.33



May 06, 2010