Oakley Athletes Set To Compete At The 2010 Winter X Games


More than 200 of the greatest winter action sports athletes from around the world, including a dozen of Oakley’s best, will compete for prize money, medals and worldwide fame in skiing, snowboard and snowmobile at the annual Winter X-Games. This event, arranged by ESPN, which often showcases tricks never tried before in competition, will take place in Aspen, Colorado, January 28-31, 2010.

Last year, Oakley’s Shaun White made history when he won two back-to-back gold medals for superpipe. He also won a gold in slopestyle and he currently holds the record for Winter X Games gold medals with nine. Also taking gold was Oakley’s Jenny Jones for slopestyle and Oakley’s Simon Dumont for Big Air. Oakley’s Kevin Pearce, Tanner Hall, Grete Eliason, Sammy Carlson and Kaya Turski won medals and gave standout performances. Watch for Oakley to dominate again this year.

Winter X Games will be covered live on ESPN’s family of networks as well as on many digital media assets. The event attracts a lot of attention and gains more viewers every year. Last year’s Winter X Games 13 was ESPN’s highest-rated and most-viewed Winter X Games in history. This year Winter X will get 20 hours of air time.

Oakley Athletes competing at Winter X:


Big Air:
Sammy Carlson
Simon Dumont
Jacob Wester
Henrik Harlaut

Skier X:
Davey Barr
Chris Del Bosco
Daron Rahlves
Ashleigh McIvor
Julia Murray

Slope style:
Sammy Carlson
Phil Casabon
Henrik Harlaut
Jossi Wells
Grete Eliassen
Kaya Turski

Simon Dumont
Virginie Faivre
Angeli VanLaanen


Shaun White
Kevin Pearce
Torstein Horgmo
Eero Ettala
Mikkel Bang
Danny Kass
Kazuhiro Kokubo
Gretchen Bleiler
Jenny Jones
Chanelle Sladics
Ellery Hollingsworth

Levi leValle
Paul Thacker
Heath Frisby

For more information visit www.xgames.com

Please visit www.espneventmedia.com for the most updated schedule.


Erin Edwards


December 10, 2009