Oakley's Shaun White, Gretchen Bleiler Win ESPYS


Oakley’s Shaun White and Gretchen Bleiler were the big winners (other than Tiger Woods) last night at the ESPY awards where they won Male and Female Action-Sports Athletes of the Year awards. It was a star studded soirée at the Nokia theater in LA for the 16th annual ESPY’s. Justin Timberlake hosted the shindig where Tiger won three trophies, which were accepted by Will Ferrell.

The nominees for the Action-Sports athletes were:

Best Male Action-Sports Athlete
Shaun White, Skateboarding/Snowboarding
Kevin Robinson, Bmx
Chad Reed, Supercross
Kevin Pearce, Snowboarding

Best Female Action-Sports Athlete
Gretchen Bleiler, Snowboarding
Jessica Patterson, Motocross
Stephanie Gilmore, Surfing
Lindsey Jacobellis, Snowboarding

Coverage of the ceremony will air on ESPN on Sunday, July 20 at 9 p.m. EDT on ESPN.


Tess Weaver


July 17, 2008