Maloof Money Cup

hennings_090712_7931

The Maloof Money Cup went down last weekend, July 10-12, 2009 at the Orange County Fairgrounds in Costa Mesa. Last year’s MMC boasted the largest purse in the history of professional skateboarding with more than $450,000 in prize money awarded in three professional U.S. Championship Competitions – Men’s and Women’s Pro Street, Men’s Pro Vert and the U.S. Amateur Championships.

This year, Oakley’s Rolling O Lab was on-site and luring kids and fans with games and autograph signings. Ryan Sheckler and Bob Burnquist signed posters next to the lap, provoking screaming girls and long lines. Heck, even Kobe Bryant showed up.

Vert finally got a new look, thanks to the progressive mind of Oakley’s Bob Burnquist, who placed third in Sunday’s finals. The competition was held on a tweaked version a mini-mega-ramp Burnquist designed (with input from Pierre-Luc Gagnon and Jake Brown), featuring a 35-foot roll-in ramp and a rainbow rail spanning a 25-foot gap, leading to an 18-foot quarterpipe wall.

“This is where it’s at,” says Burnquist, who has a full-size mega-ramp in the backyard of his Vista, Calif., home. “This is the reality. This is not killing vert. This is vert.”

Oakley’s very own Sam Beckett came second in the Am Vert Finals.

The Maloof Money Cup will be airing on NBC July 19 at 11 a.m. Pacific Time/2 p.m. Eastern Time and on MTV 2 July 22 at 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time/9:00 p.m. Eastern Time.