Sean Petit Star of 2010 Powder Video Awards


Music blaring, crowd roaring, insane footage from the year’s best ski movies rolling, and all of the ski industry’s high-rollers packed under one roof in a little town they call Aspen…what else could it be, but the 2010 Powder Video Awards (PVA) & Reader Poll.

Oakley dominated the Reader Poll, as Seth Morrison topped the list for the fourth year in a row. The late Shane McConkey took second, followed by Tanner Hall in fifth, Simon Dumont in eighth and Sammy Carlson in ninth. Grete Eliassen ranked third on the women’s list.

The man of the hour was 2009 “Breakthrough Performer,” Sean Pettit who took home the prize tonight for both “Best Male” and “Full Throttle” for his performance in In Deep by MSP. As if that wasn’t honors enough, Tanner Hall proclaimed “He’s the future. I am so proud of you Sean. You literally are the best skier in the world.”

Oakley’s Daron Rahlves won “Best Line” for his spine run in Matchstick Productions “In Deep”, which took “Movie of the Year” later in the evening.

Oakley skier Dan Treadway who came to Aspen from BC, took the honor of “Photo of the Year” along with his photographer.

The highlight of the evening was the induction of the “Lifetime Achievement Award,” which went to the legendary Warren Miller. He flew in from Montana for the show despite a broken back.


Tess Weaver; Photos by David Reddick


January 31, 2010

Related Photos