Oakley Wins Tour de France

Sastre Andy

Oakley’s Carlos Sastre won the 95th Tour de France on Sunday, as the three-week race ended on the Champs- Elysees in Paris, emphasizing Oakley’s dominance in the sport of cycling. Oakley’s Cadel Evans was runner-up for the second consecutive year. Throughout the three weeks, 3,500km and 21 stages, Oakley produced six different leaders and 14 stage wins.

Five riders began the L’Alpe-d’Huez stage within a minute of the lead. Among them were prerace favorite, Oakley’s Cadel Evans, Oakley’s Frank Schleck, who wore the yellow jersey at the start of Stage 17, and Oakley’s Andy Schleck, who was the top young rider and showed such power in the mountains that he will be a favorite to win the Tour in future years. Then there was Sastre. Age 33 and in perhaps his final year as a serious contender, he broke away on the mountain to take the yellow jersey and held onto it with a career performance in the final time trial.

“It’s a dream come true,” said Sastre, who has had five top-10 finishes in the last six years and four victories in mountain stages. "I have been waiting so long for this. I thought I would one day win the Tour, but I had to fight for it, get experience, and finally I have done it.’’

Australia’s Cadel Evans (OAKLEY) was runner-up, finishing 58 seconds behind Sastre, followed by Austria’s Bernhard Kohl at 1 minute 13 seconds. Denis Menchov of Russia, Christian Vande Velde of the U.S. and Luxembourg’s Frank Schleck (OAKLEY) completed the top six.

“I had some little mistakes but just to be able to continue after the crash in the first week was something I was happy with,‘’ Evans said. "To finish second is a good ride. Of course I’d like to win but it’s not easy to win the Tour de France.’’

STAGE 1: Valverde SPAIN
STAGE 2: Thor Hushovd NORWAY
STAGE 3: Samuel Dumoulin FRANCE
STAGE 4: Stephan Schumacher GERMANY
STAGE 5: Mark Cavendish UK
STAGE 7: Luis Leon Sanchez SPAIN
STAGE 8: Mark Cavendish UK
STAGE 11: Kurt Asle Arvesen NORWAY
STAGE 12: Mark Cavendish UK
STAGE 13: Mark Cavendish UK
STAGE 15: Simon Gerrans AUSTRALIA
STAGE 16: Cyrill Dessel FRANCE
STAGE 17: Carlos Sastre SPAIN
STAGE 20: Stephan Schumacher GERMANY.

1 Carlos Sastre Candil (Spa) Team CSC – Saxo Bank OAKLEY
2 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence – Lotto OAKLEY
3 Bernhard Kohl (Aut) Gerolsteiner
4 Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank
5 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Team Garmin
6 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC – Saxo Bank OAKLEY
7 Samuel Sanchez Gonzalez (Spa) Euskaltel OAKLEY
8 Kim Kirchen (Lux) Team Columbia OAKLEY
9 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Caisse d’Epargne OAKLEY
Best young rider: Andy Schleck. OAKLEY


Tess Weaver


July 29, 2008

Related Photos