With over 300 victories at every latitude in official UCI calendar races, the team has written some of the most significant pages in the history of international cycling in the last decade. Over the years the team’s prestige has grown exponentially—so much so that the team is universally recognized as the Ruler of the Classics. In fact, since 2003 the team has conquered no less than 16 “monumental classics.” Add to these 3 world road titles, 3 time trial world championships, 2 World Cups and an Olympics and you’ve got a team to be reckoned with. Many champions have been essential to the team’s formation and progress, particularly Paolo Bettini, one of the greatest riders of all time, who holds a record number of victories in the classics and is a two-time world champion; the Lion from Flanders, Johan Museeuw; and Tom Boonen—with 3 victories in Paris-Roubaix and 2 in the Ronde van Vlaanderen among his more than 100 career victories, he’s one of the most winning athletes still riding and one of cycling’s brightest stars.

In addition to the specialists in the classics, the team has shone several times in the Grand Tours, particularly the Tour de France, thanks to many stage victories and the star form of Richard Virenque. In fact, with this team the French rider built his record as a multiple winner in the classification for the Tour’s best climber, wearing the distinguishing polka-dot jersey on the final podium in Paris no less than 7 times, a record that will be hard to beat.

However, each individual success is always the result of great teamwork. The combative spirit and will to win of every single member of the team, the staff and the athletes, has allowed us to achieve extraordinary goals. “Behind a single win there’s always the work of a cohesive group that’s ready to fight together for the same outcome,” team manager Patrick Lefevere is fond of saying. “This is what we have always asked of our athletes. Sweat, sacrifice, the will to fight. The success of one person is a victory for all of us.”

2012 Team Roster
Marco Bandiera
Tom Boonen
Matthew Brammeier
Dario Cataldo
Mark Cavendish
Sylvain Chavanel
Francesco Chicchi
Gerald Ciolek
Kevin De Weert
Dries Devenyns
Andrew Fenn
Michal Golas
Bert Grabsch
Iljo Keisse
Michal Kwiatkowski
Levi Leipheimer
Nikolas Maes
Tony Martin
Serge Pauwels
Jerome Pineau
Frantisek Rabon
Gert Steegmans
Zdenek Stybar
Niki Terpstra
Matteo Trentin
Guillaume Van Keirsbulck
Stijn Vandenbergh
Kristof Vandewalle
Martin Velits
Peter Velits
Julien Vermote

Omega Pharma - Quick Step

Date of Birth:
January 1, 2003
Omega Pharma, Quick-Step, Innergetic, Q8, Specialized, Janom, Peugeot, Vermarc, Harvest, Sports Control, On, Coca Cola, Roncato, Compex, Jetair, QM, Biover, Bruno Denijs, Pablo Nero, Tapp, De Rijke, Oakley, Powerbar

Career Highlights

Recent Photos

Cavendish_Web Cycling : Team OPQS 2013 Cycling : Training Team OPQS 2013 Cycling : Team OPQS 2013 Cycling : Team OPQS 2013 Cycling : Team OPQS 2013
View All