Philippe Gilbert (born 5 July 1982 in Remouchamps (Aywaille)) is a Belgian professional road bicycle racer for UCI ProTour team BMC Racing Team. Gilbert is a classics specialist. He is the second person (and first Belgian) in history to win all three Ardennes classics in a single year.

In 2011, Philippe Gilbert won the Montepaschi Strade Bianche, a race including 70 kilometres of gravel roads. He then had a quadruple consecutive win: first he won the Brabantse Pijl, then he repeated as winner of Amstel Gold Race, breaking free on the Cauberg. Three days later, he won La Flèche Wallonne dropping his rivals on the final climb of the Mur de Huy and finally he won Liège–Bastogne–Liège beating the Schleck brothers in the sprint. Gilbert thus became the second rider, after Davide Rebellin in 2004, to win the three Ardennes classics in a single year.

During the first half of the season he also won stages at the Volta ao Algarve, Tirreno-Adriatico as well as the overall classification and a stage of both the Tour de Belgique and Ster ZLM Toer.

In late June he won the Belgian National Road Race Championships; by July and the opening 191.5 km stage of the 2011 Tour de France, he would win by three seconds over Cadel Evans, allowing him to be the first person to put on the yellow jersey as overall leader. He lost that jersey in the team time trial the next day but still held the green jersey and the polka dot jersey after stage 2. A week after the end of the Tour, Gilbert won the Clásica de San Sebastián, and in mid-August, Gilbert won the 3rd stage at the ENECO Tour, taking his 15th victory of the year.

In September Gilbert won the Grand Prix Cycliste de Quebec and took over the lead in the UCI world rankings.

Philippe Gilbert

Cycling : BMC Racing Team 2013
Date of Birth:
July 5, 1982
Remouchamps, Belgium
BMC Racing Team, Easton, Hincapie, Bell, zipvit, 2XU, lululemon, SRM, fizik, Continental, Thule, Park Tool, DeFeet, SpiderTech, BlackBerry

Career Highlights

    • 2006, 2008: 1st, Omloop Het Nieuwsblad
    • 2009, 2010: 1st, Giro di Lombardia
    • 2009, 2010: 1st, Giro del Piemonte
    • 2010, 2011: 1st, Amstel Gold Race
    • 2011: 1st, La Flèche Wallonne
    • 2011: 1st, Grand Prix Cycliste de Québec
    • 2011: 1st, Liège–Bastogne–Liège
    • 2011: 1st: Clásica de San Sebastián
    • 2011: 1st, Brabantse Pijl
    • 2011: 1st, GP de Wallonie
    • 2011: 1st, Stage 5 Tirreno-Adriatico
    • 2011: 1st, Stage 1 Volta ao Algarve
    • 2011: 3rd, Milan – San Remo
    • 2011: 1st, Stage 1 Tour de France
    • 2011: 1st Stage 3, Eneco Tour
    • 2011: 1st Overall and Stage 4, Ster ZLM Tour
    • 2011: 1st UCI World Tour Standings Champion
    • 2011: Belgian National Road Race and Time Trial Champion
    • 2011: 1st Overall and Stage 3, Tour of Belgium