Scottish Rider David Millar Wins Stage 12 Of The 2012 Tour de France For Garmin-Sharp

Cycling : 99th Tour de France 2012 / Stage 12

As NBC’s Tour de France commentator, Phil Liggett said during Friday’s Stage 12, “About 99 times out of 100, the lead group gets caught by the peloton (before the finish line).” David Millar, of the Garmin-Sharp team, wanted Friday’s race to be that one time out of 100. The Scottish rider shot out with a group of four other men roughly 15km into the longest stage of the Tour. The fivesome lead the race for over 211km, a feat in itself. With less than 1km left in the race, Millar made his move. Only Jean-Christophe Peraud could counter, but in the end, Millar had the strength for the victory, edging Peraud at the finish line. Millar’s win was the 35th victory of his career, the fourth stage win of this year’s Tour for British riders and the American Garmin-Sharp team’s first of the 2012 Tour de France.

“It all worked out perfectly today,” Millar said. “There’s nothing quite like the sensation of winning a road stage.”

Known as more of a time-trial specialist, Millar secured his fourth career Tour de France stage victory. The 35-year-old, former national road and time-trial champion was the only rider in the lead break who had a Tour stage victory under his belt. He finished over seven minutes ahead of the peloton in the French city of Annonay.

There were no major implications in the overall individual time classification as the peloton contained virtually all the top contenders. Team Sky’s Bradley Wiggins retained his yellow jersey and yellow Oakley RadarLock glasses, as teammate Chris Froome remains 2 minutes, 5 seconds back in second place. Defending Tour de France Champion, Cadel Evans will stay in 4th place over 3 minutes behind the leader. Evan’s Team BMC teammate, Tejay Van Garderen will also keep his white jersey on Saturday, as the best young rider in the field.

Congratulations to David on an impressive and lengthy Stage 12 win and best of luck the rest of the Tour. Stage 13 will head towards the Mediterranean on Saturday, covering 135 miles from Saint-Paul Trois-Chateaux to the Le Cap d’Agde resort on the sea. There should be plenty of fireworks, literally, as Saturday is Bastille Day in France, their national holiday. Good luck to all the riders and stay tuned for constant updates.

Overall Individual Time Classification

1. GBR WIGGINS Bradley 101 SKY PROCYCLING 54h 34’ 33’’ OAKLEY
2. GBR FROOME Christopher 105 SKY PROCYCLING 54h 36’ 38’’ + 02’ 05’’ OAKLEY
3. ITA NIBALI Vincenzo 51 LIQUIGAS-CANNONDALE 54h 36’ 56’’ + 02’ 23’’
4.AUS EVANS Cadel 1 BMC RACING TEAM 54h 37’ 52’’ + 03’ 19’’ OAKLEY
5. BEL VAN DEN BROECK Jurgen 111 LOTTO-BELISOL TEAM 54h 39’ 21’’ + 04’ 48’’
6. ESP ZUBELDIA Haimar 19 RADIOSHACK-NISSAN 54h 40’ 48’’ + 06’ 15’’ OAKLEY
7. USA VAN GARDEREN Tejay 9 BMC RACING TEAM 54h 41’ 30’’ + 06’ 57’’ OAKLEY
8. SLO BRAJKOVIC Janez 181 ASTANA PRO TEAM 54h 42’ 03’’ + 07’ 30’’ OAKLEY
9. FRA ROLLAND Pierre 29 TEAM EUROPCAR 54h 43’ 04’’ + 08’ 31’’ OAKLEY
10. FRA PINOT Thibaut 146 FDJ-BIGMAT 54h 43’ 24’’ + 08’ 51’’
11. GER KLÖDEN Andréas 15 RADIOSHACK-NISSAN 54h 44’ 02’’ + 09’ 29’’ OAKLEY
12. LUX SCHLECK Frank 11 RADIOSHACK-NISSAN 54h 44’ 18’’ + 09’ 45’’ OAKLEY
13. IRL ROCHE Nicolas 79 AG2R LA MONDIALE 54h 45’ 22’’ + 10’ 49’’ OAKLEY
14. FRA COPPEL Jérôme 91 SAUR-SOJASUN 54h 46’ 00’’ + 11’ 27’’
15. USA HORNER Christopher 14 RADIOSHACK-NISSAN 54h 47’ 14’’ + 12’ 41’’ OAKLEY


John Ohail


July 13, 2012

Related Products

Related Photos