• Big 5: Jeg Coughlin Crowned with Fifth NHRA Pro Stock Title at Auto Club Finals


    Posted 8 months ago by Andrew De Lara

    Jeg Coughlin is blazing his way into the ranks of the greatest NHRA drivers of all time. But although it’s been no easy task, he’s making it look easy. The long-time Oakley drag racer rocketed to his fifth Pro Stock Championship in early November, tallying his fourth Auto Club NHRA Pomona event victory on the way. “In this day and age, it is so tough to win out here,” Jeg said. “We’ve seen a lot of races won and lost by just a few thousandths of a second. I think this is one of the tightest, and one of the most intense championships I’ve ever won. This ranks right up there with 2007 when we had the two cuts to the Countdown to One in the first year of our playoffs.” Obviously, he’s no stranger to success. Taking his place as the eighth driver in NHRA history to claim five pro series crowns, 25,000 Southern California fans witnessed Jeg add to his illustrious list of triumphs throughout the years.

Jeg Coughlin


"The time is now, make it happen"

Date of Birth:
June 23, 1970
Delaware, Ohio
Team Jegs
Spending time with family, golfing, motocross, karting and bracket racing.

Career Highlights

    • Only driver in the 60 years of the sport's existence to win in six different categories
    • Four-time Full Throttle Pro Stock world champion (2000, 2002, 2007, 2008)
    • Sportsman world champion in Super Gas category (1992)
    • NHRA Rookie of the Year (1998)
    • Became 10th driver in NHRA's 58-year history to win 50 national events (2007)
    • Three-time winner of K&N Filters Horsepower Challenge (1999, 2000, 2009)
    • Only driver in history to win national events in four categories in one season -- Pro Stock, Super Stock, Competition, and Super Gas (1997)
    • Four-time NHRA Division 3 champion (Super Gas, 1992; Super Stock, 1994; Competition and Super Stock, 1997)
    • Moroso 5-Day Champion (Super Pro, 2003)
    • Two-time Hemi Shootout winner (Indianapolis, 2004; and Las Vegas, 2006)