As one of the top 10 drag racers of all time, five-time world champion Jeg Coughlin Jr. knows the value of a strong crew of dedicated professionals all working together towards one common goal. That’s why the 68-time national event winner decided to endure the short-term growing pains of starting a brand-new team in 2012 to set a solid foundation for long-term success with his Dodge Avenger.

The plan already paid dividends with the upstart group successfully qualifying for the Countdown to the Championship playoffs, giving the team a running start for all future endeavors.

Now, with the unwavering support of JEGS Mail Order and Mopar, Coughlin is taking aim at another Pro Stock championship to go with the ones he earned in 2000, 2002, 2007 and 2008.

There’s every reason to bet on the affable Ohioan. He’s been winning races at all levels of straight-line racing since he started in 1990 and even scored the Super Gas world title in 1992.

He’s the only driver to win national events in four different eliminators in the same year, racking up victories in Super Stock, Super Gas, Comp and Pro Stock in 1997. He also was the first racer in NHRA’s 63-year history to win in six different categories — Pro Stock, Competition Eliminator, Top Dragster, Super Gas, Super Stock and Super Comp.

As one of the premiere flagship racers representing the high performance parts business his father started in the 1950s, JEGS Mail Order, Coughlin’s pedigree for success will certainly shine through as his personal racing story continues to unfold.

Jeg Coughlin


"The time is now, make it happen"

Date of Birth:
June 23, 1970
Delaware, Ohio
Team Jegs
Spending time with family, golfing, motocross, karting and bracket racing.

Career Highlights

    • Only driver in the 60 years of the sport's existence to win in six different categories
    • Four-time Full Throttle Pro Stock world champion (2000, 2002, 2007, 2008)
    • Sportsman world champion in Super Gas category (1992)
    • NHRA Rookie of the Year (1998)
    • Became 10th driver in NHRA's 58-year history to win 50 national events (2007)
    • Three-time winner of K&N Filters Horsepower Challenge (1999, 2000, 2009)
    • Only driver in history to win national events in four categories in one season -- Pro Stock, Super Stock, Competition, and Super Gas (1997)
    • Four-time NHRA Division 3 champion (Super Gas, 1992; Super Stock, 1994; Competition and Super Stock, 1997)
    • Moroso 5-Day Champion (Super Pro, 2003)
    • Two-time Hemi Shootout winner (Indianapolis, 2004; and Las Vegas, 2006)