Oakley Athletes Take Over the 2006 ESPY Awards


What do you get when you mix Oakley’s Lance Armstrong, an allstar line-up of some of the worlds best athletes and Will Farrell? The 2006 ESPY Awards! On Wednesday July 12th, a large part of the sporting world came together under one roof, the Kodak Theater in Los Angeles, CA to recognize each others accomplishments and have a raging party to celebrate what they do best; being great.

Who decides what moment or athlete is the greatest? The fans do. The ESPY’s are a chance for the fans of the sporting world to vote online, on everything from their favorite sporting moment, to their favorite action sports female.

Having 7 time Tour de France winner and cycling icon Lance Armstrong hosting the event, along with Oakley athletes nominated in almost every award category, made for an exciting night and just like he did in the final stages of the Tour, Lance turned up the heat and hosted an amazing event and an even better performance at his exclusive after-after party later that night.

Oakley would like to say congratulations to all of our athletes who were nominated for this great award. We are proud that these athletes choose to wear Oakley’s High Definition Optics® (HDO®) and we are proud to have them as a part of the Oakley Family.

Oakley Athletes:

Best Female Athlete:
Annika Sorenstam (Eighth Espy Win)

Best Male Athlete:
Lance Armstrong – Cycling

Best Breakthrough Athlete:
Shaun White – Snowboarder

Best Record-Breaking Performance:
Mike Metzger – Motocross

Best Male Action Sports Athlete:
Ricky Carmichael – Motocross
Shaun White – Snowboarder

Best Female Action Sports Athlete:
Dallas Friday – Wakeboarder
Gretchen Bleiler – Snowboarder

Best Female Athlete with a Disability:
Sarah Reinertsen – Triathelete

Best Olympic Athlete:
Shaun White – Snowboarder

Best Driver:
Tony Stewart

Best Golfer:
Annika Sorenstam

Best NHL Player:
Jaromir Jagr


Staff Writer


July 16, 2006

Related Photos