Team Oakley Continues to Dominate the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship


Halfway through the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, Team Oakley has swept three of six podiums and is showing no signs of letting off the gas.

Leading the charge is the 450 Class rookie Ken Roczen who extended his championship standing points lead over teammate Ryan Dungey to 26-points with his win this past weekend at RedBud National.

Ryan Dungey started the afternoon by grabbing the Holeshot Award in Moto 1 leaving Roczen to fight his way out from a start deep inside the top 10; which is exactly what Roczen did. Finding a gap and charging to the front, Roczen broke out and pulled away leaving Dungey to do battle with Trey Canard for second.

Heading into Moto 2, Roczen was the rider to beat – a statement he made loud and clear claiming the HoleShot Award right out from under the nose of Canard – who ultimately had finished second in front on Dungey in the first moto.

Canard made Roczen work for his fourth win in six starts, but in the end there was no containing Roczen. On Lap 5 he made a pass on Canard that stuck. All the while Dungey and Eli Tomac were in hot pursuit. The pressure swallowed Canard who went down allowing Tomac and Dungey to slip in for second and third place respectively.

“I really like the track out here, it’s gnarly and it makes it really difficult,” said Roczen. “I had my work cut out for me in the first moto, but I just never let up. Then I let Trey [Canard] by me off the start [in the second moto] and made it tougher on myself, but this was one of those days where my fitness played a factor and I wasn’t going to let it slip away.”

450 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Ken Roczen, Germany, KTM (1-1)
2. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (4-2)
3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (3-3)
4. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (2-4)
5. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (5-5)
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (6-6)
7. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki (8-7)
8. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Kawasaki (7-8)
9. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (10-9)
10. Kyle Chisholm, Clearwater, Fla., Yamaha (13-13)




July 08, 2014