Oakley's Villopoto Gains Big Grounds With Win In Houston


Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, visited the great state of Texas for the second time in 2010 at Houston’s Reliant Stadium. After a one week break, the world’s best supercross riders returned to action Saturday night as Oakley’s Ryan Villopoto, won his seventh AMA Supercross class race of the year.

The Oakley rider had a great drive out of the gate in the premier class main event to take the Spike Holeshot Award with Oakley teammate Ryan Dungey, and Josh Hill in tow. As Villopoto quickly gapped the field, several heated battles ensued behind him. On lap 10, AMA Supercross class points leader Oakley’s Ryan Dungey stalled his bike coming off the main straight, dropping from fourth to eighth. He restarted and worked back through the field to salvage fifth place.

“I think this is my first actual holeshot of year,” said Villopoto. “It’s always great to get (a good start). I’ve definitely struggles in practice this season. I don’t know why but I turn it around come race time. It bums me out when I look at the board in practice and I’m not on it but at end of the night it’s awesome to lead all 20 laps and come out with a win. And tonight I was able to gain a lot of points.”

Kevin Windham, captured a season-best second place finish while Oakley’s Ivan Tedesco, rounded out the podium in third.

The 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season continues next weekend from St. Louis, Mo., at the Edward Jones Dome.

AMA Supercross Class Results: Houston
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
2. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda
3. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
4. Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Kawasaki
5. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
6. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki
7. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda
8. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda
9. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha
10. Josh Hill, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha

AMA Supercross Class Season Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 277
2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 265
3. Josh Hill, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha, 217
4. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Honda, 203
5. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss., Honda, 201
6. Ivan Tedesco, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 179
7. Justin Brayton, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha, 176
8. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki, 141
9. Tommy Hahn, Alvord, Texas, Suzuki, 128
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 123