Carmichael Wins Second Consecutive and Moves Closer to Points Lead


Oakley’s Ricky Carmichael won his second consecutive Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP/Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series race in front of 56,283 fans at the RCA Dome. Oakley’s Davi Millsaps also picked up his second AMA Supercross Lites win on the season.

Team Oakley rider Ernesto Fonseca won his first $1,500 Progressive Direct Holeshot Award of the season in the AMA Supercross class with reigning champion RC in second. Oakley’s James Stewart crashed in turn one for the second consecutive race and started in last place again but turned in the fastest laps of the day. This race Bubba turned in an unforgettable come from behind charge as he came from last to second in 8 laps.

RC passed Fonseca for the lead on lap 2 and pulled away from the field. Bubba worked into second place on lap 8 but was unable to catch RC. Point’s leader Chad Reed passed Nick Wey, for third place late in the race and was able to hold onto his Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series points lead. Carmichael’s win was his fifth of the season, Stewart finished second and Reed third.

"I was just trying to win out there tonight," said Stewart on his second place finish. "Next week we go to my home state of Florida, and I love racing at Daytona. I hope I can get a win there."

In the lights division it was Oakley’s rising star Davi Millsaps who once again came away with the win and still carries the points lead in the East coast series. Josh Grant got the hole shot in the lights class while Millsap’s settled into second place to start the 15-lap feature. The two Honda riders traded positions on lap 2. Grant crashed on lap 10, allowing Oakley’s Millsaps to take over the lead.

"Josh (Grant) had a good lead tonight," said Millsaps. "That isn’t the way that I want to win, but a win is a win. I want to stay smart and be consistent. I have a solid points lead in the series, so that’s what’s important."

SX MAIN (20 laps): (Oakley Athletes in Red)

Ricky Carmichael (Suz)
James Stewart (Kaw)
Chad Reed (Yam)
Ivan Tedesco (Suz)
Nicholas Wey (Hon)
Ernesto Fonseca (Hon)
Michael Byrne (Kaw)
Travis Preston (Hon)
Tim Ferry (Hon)
Jeff Gibson (Hon)

Season Standings: (Oakley Athletes in Red)

Chad Reed (Yam), 191
Ricky Carmichael (Suz), 190
James Stewart (Kaw), 174
Ivan Tedesco (Suz), 144
Nicholas Wey (Hon), 133
Michael Byrne (Kaw), 132
Ernesto Fonseca (Hon), 125
Mike LaRocco (Hon), 108
Travis Preston (Hon), 103
Jeff Gibson (Hon), 70


Staff Writer


March 04, 2006