Oakley Athletes Dominate At The Sea Otter Classic


Last week an estimated 8,500 riders participated in the 20th annual Sea Otter Classic. The event is a four-day festival that offers international racing, beginner through professional and includes mountain biking events, such as cross country (XC), downhill (DH), dual slalom (DS), Dual Stunt, Super Downhill and short track.

The Oakley team competed and nearly won in every event.

Here are a few of the highlights.

Oakley’s Todd Wells and Georgia Gould rode away from their respective fields to win the Pro Cross-Country Tour short track on Saturday.

After winning the Pro XCT cross-country race in Fontana and the Pan-Am Mountain Bike Championships in less than a month, Wells continued his early season winning ways on the short-track. And even with a top-flight field that included 10 riders who can win a World Cup race on any given day, Wells won easily.

“A lot of the top riders didn’t get a good call up,” Wells said. “I used it to my advantage.”

In the women’s race, Oakley’s Georgia Gould didn’t immediately dominate the race.

Then Gould started to gap the others, putting about six seconds on the chasers. With two laps to go, Gould had built a 20 second lead over teammate Pendrel and Byberg and had clearly won.

The highlight of Sunday’s final day was the downhill. The men’s winner was Oakley’s Jared Graves of Golden, Colorado, while Oakley’s Brian Lopes took third. Oakley’s Rachel Atherton, back after an injury, placed second.

In Dual Slalom, Oakley’s Jill Kintner wins first ever Sea Otter Slalom after many years of placing runner up.

In cross-country Oakley sweeped the podium in both the men and women divisions.

Men’s short track results
1. Todd Wells –Oakley- BMX CHROME JAWBONE
2. Burry Stander –Oakley- BMX CHROME RADAR
3. Geoff Kabush –Oakley- RADAR

Women’s short track results
1. Georgia Gould –Oakley -Enduring
2. Lene Byberg –Oakley -Enduring
3. Catharine Pendrel –Oakley –Enduring

Dual Slalom- Elite Women
1. Jill Kintner –Oakley –Crowbar MX
2. Rachel Atherton–Oakley –O Frame MX

Men’s Downhill results
1. Jared Graves –Oakley- Crowbar MX
2. Aaron Gwin
3. Brian Lopes –Oakley- Head to Toe Apparel /Crowbar MX

Women’s Downhill results
1. Melissa Buhl
2. Rachel Atherton –Oakley O Frame MX
3. Tracy Moseley –Oakley –Crowbar MX

Men’s Cross Country results
1. Burry Stander –Oakley- BMX CHROME RADAR
2. Geoff Kabush –Oakley- RADAR
3. Todd Wells –Oakley- BMX CHROME JAWBONE

Women’s Cross Country results
1. Georgia Gould –Oakley -Enduring
2. Lene Byberg –Oakley -Enduring
3. Catharine Pendrel –Oakley –Enduring


Erin Edwards


April 21, 2010

Related Photos