Retaking Control: Ryan Villopoto Grabs 2 Point Standings Lead After Supercross Daytona Victory


The defending back-to-back Supercross Champion is reminding everyone just why he’s now accustomed to owning the field.

Oakley’s Ryan Villopoto retook the standings lead with authority, claiming an impressive victory over fellow O ripper, Ryan Dungey, for his third straight Daytona triumph in four years.

Screaming out of the gates with purpose with the Holeshot in his pocket, Ryan fended off major charges from Ken Roczen and Justin Barcia mid-lap.

Both riders briefly overtook the Kawasaki star, but, as always, it was short lived. Lap 2 saw Ryan claw past Barcia – and two laps later, he smoked Roczen to snatch the lead. He never let up, eventually charging his way to a five-second win.

“Daytona is a unique place to race and to win here is pretty awesome,” said RV, sporting his new, technologically advanced Airbrake MX goggle. “It’s not like any other race, so if you can win here then it shows you are one of the best.”

Dungey also clearly kicked his way back into Championship contention with a solid second place finish of his own.

Coming into Florida with the intention of cutting down his points deficit in the standings, the former Supercross Champ fought his way up from a fourth place position at the start of the race.

Ultimately, though, he just couldn’t catch Villopoto.

“I tried to close that gap as much as I could each lap, but Ryan (Villopoto) was riding a good race,” Dungey said.

With that, the Championship drama continues to unfold – with Oakley’s duo of ‘Ryans’ in prime positions to fight for the Crown until the bitter end.

450 Main
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Justin Barcia (Honda)
4. Eli Tomac (Honda)
5. Chad Reed (Honda)
6. Trey Canard (Honda)
7. Ken Roczen (KTM)
8. James Stewart (Suzuki)
9. Broc Tickle (Suzuki)
10. Davi Millsaps (Suzuki)

450 Point Standings
1. Ryan Villopoto, 202
2. Davi Millsaps, 200
3. Ryan Dungey, 188
4. Trey Canard, 163
5. Chad Reed, 163
6. Justin Barcia, 152
7. James Stewart, 135
8. Andrew Short, 122
9. Justin Brayton, 104
10. Broc Tickle, 99