Cha-Ching! Motocross Star Ryan Villopoto Snatches $1 Million at Monster Energy Cup


A Supercross Title and the AMA Pro Motocross Title in the same year just wasn’t enough for Ryan Villopoto.

Oakley’s Superstar Motocross Team Rider dropped into the first-ever Monster Energy Cup in Las Vegas, dominating all three main events to claim a massive $1 Million at Sam Boyd Stadium.

“It’s pretty unreal,” Ryan said, rocking his Oakley Signature Series Motocross Goggles. “I’m happy we were able to pull it off. To back it up next year would be hard, so if we do, it would be great. I can’t thank my team enough for this amazing victory.”

Main Event 1 saw him come out of the gates on fire – grabbing the holeshot and never letting up through the race. Fellow O rider Ryan Dungey, who made his charge on Lap 2, finished in third.

The second Moto was more of the same, with Villopoto taking the first turn as Dungey stalked. The race ended with Villpoto out in front and Dungey claiming second.

“Heading into the final moto, I just need to get another good start like I’ve been doing,” Villopoto said, following the second event. “I’ll be happy leaving here healthy, and if I win, great, if not, this was still awesome.”

The third event was less of a walk in the park, however. This time, the Holeshot went to Mike Alessi – only to be passed up by Villopoto shorly after.

Lap 2 saw Dungey and Alessi engaged in a battle, trading positions until Dungey smashed past him and opened up a solid gap. Meanwhile, Villopoto continued to cruise toward a fat stack of cash – finishing off what was a flawless day of racing for the O Star.

Congratulations to both Ryans for an amazing event!

Monster Energy Cup Class Results
1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1,1,1)
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (3,2,2)
3. Brett Metcalfe, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Suzuki (4,3,3)
4. Martin Davalos, Cairo, Ga., Suzuki (7,7,5)
5. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (5,4,10)
6. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (9,9,7)
7. Nick Wey, Murrieta, Calif., Kawasaki (14,11,4)
8. Jimmy Albertson, Ozark, Mo., Yamaha (11,10,8)
9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (12,6,11)
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., Suzuki (6,21,6)