USA! American Motocross Team Claims 22nd FIM Motocross of Nations Triumph in France


It took a late, massive charge in the very last race to claim glory.

But the talent-packed motocross from team from the United States did just enough – in the nick of time – to emerge from the FIM Motocross of Nations Championship in Saint Jean D’Angely on Sept. 18 with their 22nd overall victory and the coveted Chamberlain Trophy. Lead by Oakley stars like Supercross/AMA Motocross Champion Ryan Villopoto and Ryan Dungey, the proud team finally reclaimed the hardware – now bound for American soil.

But it was far from a breeze in the French countryside.

Home team France was leading the Nations classification with a nine-point advantage over the US and 12 points ahead of Belgium. The team grabbed the second spot in the Nations Top Ten in Race 1 – complemented by the overall top spot in Race 2 with Gautier Paulin topping the individual field.

They needed but two solid results in the last race – after enjoying some valuable results from Race 1 and 2 – to claim glory in front of the home fans.

Unfortunately for the French, the American team had something else in mind.

It wasn’t until Race 3 when the US made its contending charge, however. Clawing into the last round, the Americans needed but two solid results to seal the overall victory. Oakley’s own Villopoto and 2010 Supercross/AMA Motocross Champ Dungey boldly answered the call, taking the first two spots in Heat 3.

Individual performances were flat out clutch. Dungey’s heroics landed him the individual MX1 win in Race 3 – while Villopoto grabbed the Open Class win to ensure that their team would hoist the trophy to the sound of the “Star Spangled Banner” (the National Anthem of the US).

With the team’s big win, Oakley’s new Crowbar MX (One Icon Patriotic) Goggles on the faces of the country’s star riders and a vibrant racing atmosphere in front of a raucous European crowd – Motocross of Nations in France was definitely one to remember.

Congratulations to Team USA!

Race 1 Top Ten:
1. Chad Reed (AUS, Honda), 35:52.640;
2. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), +0:03.485;
3. Ryan Dungey (USA, Suzuki), +0:04.919;
4. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:21.469;
5. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:30.845;
6. Tanel Leok (EST, TM), +0:32.870;
7. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), +0:38.278;
8. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +0:44.042;
9. Dean Wilson (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:57.674;
10. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:58.484;

Nations top ten: Great Britain, France, Australia, USA, Estonia, Belgium, South Africa, Germany, Portugal, Spain.

Race 2 Top Ten:
1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 34:14.392;
2. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:02.424;
3. Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki), +0:02.813;
4. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), +0:05.097;
5. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:19.281;
6. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Yamaha), +0:45.403;
7. Brett Metcalfe (AUS, Suzuki), +0:45.914;
8. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:56.746;
9. Carlos Campano (ESP, Yamaha), +0:57.873;
10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha), +1:07.283;

Nations top ten: France, USA, Belgium, Germany, Great Britain, South Africa, Spain, The Netherlands, Estonia, Portugal.

Race 3 Top 10:
1. Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki), 34:51.718;
2. Ryan Dungey (USA, Suzuki), +0:00.465;
3. Tyla Rattray (RSA, Kawasaki), +0:05.182;
4. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:18.156;
5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Kawasaki), +0:22.628;
6. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:24.594;
7. Chad Reed (AUS, Honda), +0:24.916;
8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:25.740;
9. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), +0:26.356;
10. Brett Metcalfe (AUS, Suzuki), +0:27.098;

Nations top ten: USA, France, Australia, Great Britain, Belgium, South Africa, Germany, Spain, The Netherlands, Estonia.