Dixon Wins IndyCar Series Championship


Helio Castroneves won the race in the second closest finish in the history of the IndyCar Series, but it wasn’t enough to stop Scott Dixon from taking his second championship.

After nearly 30 minutes, official timing and scoring called the margin of victory 0.0033 seconds — slightly more than the 0.0024 margin Sam Hornish Jr. had over Al Unser Jr. on the 1.5-mile Joliet track in 2002.

It was sweet redemption for Dixon, who lost both the race and the championship to Dario Franchitti last year at Chicagoland Speedway when he ran out of fuel two turns from the finish.

Dixon, who came into the race with a 30-point lead, wound up winning the title and the $1 million bonus that goes with it by 17 points.

It was hardly a perfect race for Dixon, who didn’t lead until 15 laps from the end and fell as far back as 11th in the middle of the 200-lap race. But he came on strong when he had to and was able to celebrate the title, hugging team owner Chip Ganassi and getting pounded on by his crew.

“It’s been an amazing year, starting with marrying my beautiful wife, Emma, and just a great race season,” Dixon said.

Scott became the fourth straight Indianapolis 500 winner to go on to earn the series championship, following Dan Wheldon, Hornish and Franchitti.

Dixon added the title to the one he won in 2003, his first year in IndyCar, by racing all season with consistency. He finished with a record-tying six victories and 14 top-five finishes in 17 starts.


Matt Murray


September 09, 2008

Related Photos