Oakley's 17 year-old New Zealander Levi Sherwood Claims Second at Red Bull X-Fighters London


Just a short time after he made history by becoming the youngest rider ever to win a Red Bull X-Fighters event, Oakley’s 17-year-old New Zealander, Levi Sherwood, amazed again, claiming second, going head-to-head with the eventual winner, Nate Adams in front of 18,000 fans at the fifth and final stop of the Red Bull X-Fighter World Tour in London. Levi, once again, impressed with his one-of-a-kind style and insane extension.

Levi recalled, “I’m pretty happy with how the whole weekend went down. I just wanted to go out there and have a solid ride after two injuries so to finish up in the finals with Nate was awesome.”

In front of a sell-out crowd, the twelve best FMX athletes in the world electrified the former coal-fired power station once responsible for providing the bustling metropolis with energy.

“A heavy fall on the course in front of the city’s legendary Battersea Power Station forced defending champion Mat Rebeaud (SUI) to abandon any chance of defending his crown. The Swiss ruler was lucky to get away with bruises, a few stitches and a flat tyre after over-rotating on the Superkicker and crashing into the up-slope opposite in his Quarter-Final.

Handicapped by a fall in Qualification on Friday, Eigo Sato was also forced out at the Quarter-Final stage as Australia’s Tower Bridge Conqueror, Robbie Maddison, made it one step further to the Semi-Finals, where he was eliminated by eventual winner of the event Nate Adams.

This year’s Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour took the sport to the next level with the first ever Double-Backflip in FMX history by another Aussie, Cameron Sinclair, as a total of 200,000 fans packed the stands in Mexico City (MEX), Calgary (CAN), Fort Worth (USA), Madrid (ESP) and London.

Final result London: 
1. Nate Adams (USA), 
2. Levi Sherwood (NZL), 
3. Dany Torres (ESP), 
4. Robbie Maddison (AUS),
5. Jeremy Stenberg (USA), 
6. Mat Rebeaud (SUI), 
7. Eigo Sato (JPN), 
8. Mike Mason (USA), 
9. André Villa (NOR), 
10. Thomas Pagés (FRA), 
11. Adam Jones (USA), 
12. Chris Birch (GBR)

Final overall championship standings Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2009: 
1. Nate Adams (USA), 
2. Robbie Maddison (AUS), 
3. Eigo Sato (JPN), 
4. Mat Rebeaud (SUI), 
5. Dany Torres (ESP), 
6. Levi Sherwood (NZL), 
7. Jeremy Stenberg (USA), 
8. Cameron Sinclair (AUS), 
9. Thomas Pagès (FRA), 
10. André Villa (NOR)


Erin Edwards


August 24, 2009

Related Photos