Legends: Oakley’s Bob Burnquist and Eric Koston Inducted Into Skateboarding Hall of Fame

Skate Hall of Fame Logo

They’re known as legends in the sport. But now it’s official.

Oakley Skate Team Superstars Bob Burnquist and Erik Koston (past) were inducted into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame on Dec. 4 – joining a truly iconic group of inductees that included the likes of Dogtown legends Steve Caballero and Stacy Peralta.

The vibrant ceremony went down at the Cooper Building in Los Angeles – complete with food, music, live auctions and the industry’s biggest and brightest personalities. All to honor some of the skaters that helped shape the sport into what it is today.

“Skateboarding’s rich culture has been built around iconic heroes that have helped to take skateboarding to another level of progression, inspiration and fun,” said John Bernards, International Association of Skateboard Companies (IASC) executive director. “IASC recognizes the importance of honoring the pros that made skateboarding what it is today- without those icons and legends the tricks skateboarders are doing today would not exist. This year’s inductees represent the best, most progressive skateboarding from 1960 to 2010 and we congratulate each of them on their accomplishments.”

Burnquist, still one of the most recognized, decorated and celebrated names in all of action sports, is an absolute legend on the Megaramp – taking home a boat load of medals as recently as X Games 16 – as well as landing the first-ever 900, fakie-to-fakie on a Megaramp this past Summer. Koston, who began skating way back in 1986, is a true icon – credited with inventing tricks that are considered standard today (including the bunny grind and the fandangle). Both their appearances in an assortment of movies and video games only reinforced their fame in the industry.

“The goal of the Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Museum is to assure that these legendary skateboarders are recognized by their peers and will be remembered by future generations,” said Todd Huber, founder of Skateboarding Hall of Fame and Museum.

Voting into the Skateboarding Hall of Fame is an intensive process by which IASC members and skateboard industry insiders from the past and present vote electronically for the skater they feel is most deserving. While the ballot has a list of 10 names from each decade as well as a list of 10 females, each category includes a fill in blank in order to give each voter the opportunity to vote for their own candidate.

Fittingly, two of Oakley’s most famous riders have now earned their rightful, official spots in Skateboarding lore.


Andrew De Lara


December 08, 2010

Related Photos